Slowworms at garden and allotment

Sitting out enjoying the sunshine on the 9th June I spotted a cat peering too closely into the long grass below the apple trees.  I shooed it away and went to look for myself.  Out slithered a slowworm, ten inches long and determined to cross the short grass.  here he is:

Slowworm in the garden, 9th June 2013

Slowworm in the garden, 9th June 2013

Sadly another did not fare well at the allotment yesterday.  I was transferring compost to a bed to enrich the site for courgettes, and I noticed three inches of wriggling slowworm tail.  I had cut one in two with the spade.  Had to slow down and work more carefully after that.  The next one I found was put to one side whilst I moved the remaining compost.

This entry was posted in Brighton, Round Hill, wildlife and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

