Do maple leaves come any bigger?

Last year I picked up some leaves around the back of the Tate Britain gallery in London.  A few weeks ago I saw them on top of a kitchen cupboard where they had sat for months.  A Google search led me to my local chemist where I bought a bottle of glycerol.  I stacked the three leaves into a plastic tea tray, placed a lot of clean flint pebbles on top and added a mix of glycerol and warm water.  For three days I dabbled and turned the leaves until they had soaked up lots of the liquid.  then dabbed them dry and now they are wonderfully flexible.

One of the three flexible Maple leaves.  Large.

One of the three flexible Maple leaves. Large.

What do I do with them now?  I’m thinking of wall-light covers – somehow.

This entry was posted in Brighton and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do maple leaves come any bigger?

Leave a Reply

