A short pub crawl with a lot of exercise – 23rd October 2013

Went down town with Jackie for a coffee, then she headed west to the bank and Waitrose whilst my plan was to walk along the seafront, east to Lidl where I’d heard a fleece was to be had for just £8.  I was heading south when the Post and Telegraph came into view.  It’s a Wetherspoon’s house, and I recalled it is holding a beer festival.  A rather good one in which lots of American brewers went to UK breweries and made a special beer.

I ventured in and found Supremely Self-conscious Black Ale, brewed at Adnam’s by the Stone Brewing Co.  It is black, and has roasted malts in it, but also seven varieties of hop including Cascade, Citra and Simcoe.  Delicious.

Taken from the Wetherspoon's beer festival tasting notes.

Taken from the Wetherspoon’s beer festival tasting notes.

This half of excellent beer reminded me that there is another Wetherspoon’s bar near Lidl, on the marina.  So the task began.  The sun shone and the wind blew giving a great sea.  Lots of folk out enjoying looking at it, or venturing near it to get covered in salty spray.

Palace Pier and a busy sea.

Palace Pier and a busy sea.

Bigger waves beat the marina

Bigger waves beat the marina

A great walk, carrying my jacket because its so warm.  At the West Quay found a seat beside a plate glass window where I could see the ice blue sky and be blinded by sunlight reflecting from a diamond-sparkling sea surface.  And I tried three more Festival beers.

A Seattle brewer created this gentle, smooth and delicate beer.  If it contained Jasmine I missed it.

A Seattle brewer created this gentle, smooth and delicate beer. If it contained Jasmine I missed it.

A surprising burnt malt flavour for an IPA.  Slightly cloudy - probably not by intent.

A surprising burnt malt flavour for an IPA. Slightly cloudy – probably not by intent.

Brewers from Oregon created this light, sweet, malty gentle bitter.

Brewers from Oregon created this light, sweet, malty gentle bitter.

afterwards I walked home via Lidl’s where they had run out of fleeces.

 

This entry was posted in Brighton, Real Ale and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A short pub crawl with a lot of exercise – 23rd October 2013

  1. rosie says:

    Hallo, nice to meet you, I´m another cousin, Rosemary but known as Rosie, I live in Munich.B
    rother Tony told me he´d visited you. I LIKE your wavy sea pictures, your interest in birds, beer and walking.And you paint, so do I.So sometime soon we could maybe meet.Rosie

Leave a Reply

