In Lewes on 2nd December

Going out to lunch with ex-work colleagues at the Swan, but in Lewes far too early so went exploring in the vicinity of County Hall.

The sculpture reminds me of a freestanding concrete sculpture which once stood in the new Churchill Square shopping development when I came to Brighton in 1971

The sculpture reminds me of a freestanding concrete sculpture which once stood in the new Churchill Square shopping development when I came to Brighton in 1971

A narrow lane led me away from the County Hall buildings, at the bottom it had a cast iron column set in the centre of the passage.  I just rather liked it being there.

Lewes Twitten near County Hall.

Lewes Twitten near County Hall.

Heading west from the twitten (its Sussex for an urban narrow lane or footpath) I found a sort of temporary park based on a derelict school site (St Anne’s School).  And here I saw a pair of beech trees, close together so they seem to have just the one pattern of branches.

Beech trees in an empty park, Lewes

Beech trees in an empty park, Lewes

In the last part of the journey to the Swan I passed a building made of a huge range of materials, and having a lot of built history in it.

Glorious mix of building materials - brick, tile, limestone, flint, sandstone and more

Glorious mix of building materials – brick, tile, limestone, flint, sandstone and more

Just a part of that previous picture, with mixed materials and an old arch of brick

Just a part of that previous picture, with mixed materials and an old arch of brick

More mixed materials and a complex history - I guess

More mixed materials and a complex history – I guess

 

This entry was posted in Brighton, my travels, wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

