Guardian report on gender and novel reading

A recent Guardian had a piece claiming that most novels read by men are written by men, and most women read novels by women.  That may be true in the round, but looking at my pile of recently read books waiting to go to a charity shop, I see they are all detective stories written by women.

Donna Leon, Kathy Reichs and Jo Bannister

Donna Leon, Kathy Reichs and Jo Bannister

Now, lets see what I’ve recently read, or plan to read next. One is a novel I read a few months ago and have been thinking about so much that I felt the need to read it again – Anne Tyler’s A Patchwork Planet.  Managed to find a copy of it in Kensington Gardens – the big shop divided into lots of stalls.

Two others are from the Brighton CineCity event – Berg and L-shaped Room (saw the film yesterday afternoon – London was so run down in the early 60’s, I’d forgotten how much life has changed in 50 years).

The Lynne Reid Banks volume  is one I got about age 15 via a book club.  Berg was Jackie's dad's.

The Lynne Reid Banks volume is one I got about age 15 via a book club. Berg was Jackie’s dad’s.

The question remains – “Does this reading pattern make me weird?”  Essentially a rhetorical question, no answers sought.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Brighton and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guardian report on gender and novel reading

  1. Most of the books that I read are written by fellas. Have to say I have stuck with Sue Grafton for a while now. Didn’t get Kathy Reichs, but love bones the tv show!

Leave a Reply

