A whisky guide gift

I received a colourful guide to whiskies of the world for my birthday. Seemed rather nice, so I checked whether it had my favourite one (which was also dad’s favourite, so just copying really!). Sadly there was no Highland Park entry, not a good start.

This absence is slightly made up for by a reference to Highland Park in the blending details for my favourite everyday tipple – Famous Grouse. Apparently Highland Park and The Macallan malts are both used in blending Grouse.

After all the pics and text about Scottish, Irish, US, French (!), and Japanese whiskies there is an English one. Curiosity led me to read the details. The English Whisky Company was established in Norfolk in 2006 (and for all I know may have ceased trading since my gift was published in 2013). But the details left me fuming. I learnt that the grain came from Norfolk but the yeast came from Kingston upon Hull IN THE NEIGHBOURING COUNTY OF LINCOLNSHIRE!!. My home city has been shifted from God’s own county (Yorkshire of course) to Lincolnshire.

The book’s cover promises to make me a definitive whisky expert – I have serious doubts about that.

Just a short post, please excuse – but I need to get a drink.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment